18 cultural differences in Spain

There have been many times where I’ve thought to myself “that’s so random” while I’ve been in Spain. See below for round 1 of Kiki’s “that’s so random” moments.

DSC00094
Being classic tourists with Ash. All that’s missing is a selfie stick.

The time schedule is very different here. Most people will wake up in the morning, have a siesta around 2-5pm, eat dinner around 9 or 10pm, and go to be around 12 or 1am. For a night owl like myself, who also loves sleeping during the day, this schedule suits me well.

DSC00191
Trying out the local cuisine: paella and cerveza

 

In terms of partying, I am used to starting drinks at 8pm and going to town at midnight. Here it is normal to start drinking around 12 and go to the clubs around 2am. This obviously means you party until the wee hours of the morning, so the saying “sleep all day, party all night” seems pretty relevant.

Speaking of partying, here it is acceptable to smoke inside bars, no ID is required to enter clubs or to buy drinks at bars, ice cubes are massive and you usually get one, and best of all, drinks are very cheap – that is if you actually have to pay for them 😉

DSC00176
My best Corona moment to date.

 

I expected way more people to speak English here. I sometimes find it hard with this language barrier because I am not naturally a shy person, but it is kinda funny, and thankfully my sister is muy bien at speaking the language so we’ve been getting along fine. She has taught me some key phrases such as “I want a beer please”, “I want a shot please”, “guapo” (handsome), and “yo no hablo Espanol, pero mi hermana lo habla” which means “I do not speak Spanish, but my sister does”. I’ve only been stitched up a few times, such as when my sister’s friend got me to ask the bartender for three penises, when I thought I was asking for three beers.

DSC00253.JPG

All the houses here are either white or colourful – so pwetty! Ash told me it’s because it’s so hot here they don’t use dark colours because they absorb too much heat.

DSC00145
Malaga looking all white from above.

Ham is super popular here; everyone fizzes over it – there are even ham flavoured chips available in supermarkets – ewsh!

Everyone is so relaxed here. I think I’ve seen one or two people in business suits, and maybe three people look like they’re actually rushing to be somewhere.

DSC00246.JPG
Spain getting turnt up with the flamenco dance

 

Family is really important here. Ash’s host family lives next door to the grandparents, and the extended family is here almost every day to have a feed from their outdoor kitchen, swim in their pool, or just hang out.

It’s suuuuper hot all the time – kind of like me. Temperatures of 30-40 degrees mean I am very thankful for a) the pool, and b) talcum powder.

DSC00228

Although there are many palm trees in and around the city, the landscape itself is very dry, obviously because it’s so hot – lucky drinks are so cheap!

Many shops are closed on Sundays. Ash says it’s because many Spanish people are Catholic. Luckily for a hungry gal like myself, plenty of restaurants remain open.

I have seen Policemen here riding motorbikes, segways and horses. I honestly don’t think I could take it seriously if I got arrested by someone on horseback.

DSC00086 (2).JPG
Lmao

 

Instead of flushing toiletpaper, many places want you to put it in the bin next to the toilet. It seems kinda pointless and gross tbh.

At the beach, everyone wears bikinis, regardless of size. Many women also flag a bikini top and just have their boobs out without anyone batting an eyelid. It’s fair to say I felt a little overdressed in my bright yellow one-piece swimsuit.

Men here are very open. If they like something about you, they will tell you. Very different from the shy guys in NZ.

Whenever you meet a new person, regardless of their gender, you kiss them on the cheeks to greet them. I found it kinda awkward at first, but now it feels natural and is actually a much sweeter alternative to the handshake.
DSC00160

They drive on the right side of the road – it really buzzes me out. Numerous times I have gone to get into the driver’s seat thinking it was the passenger seat, and I have freaked out thinking we are on the wrong side of the road when driving.

Heaps of places still want you to pay by cash. It’s low key inconvenient and rather old-school. One night the taxi dropped us home from the clubs and told us he didn’t take Eftpos so we had to drive back to town to find a cash machine

I’m only five days deep into this new and exciting cultural experience, I wonder what my next “that’s so random” moment will be!

DSC00245.JPG
My sister looking inquisitive

 

 

Leave a Reply

